PSO

InnovÉÉ works closely with the Ministère de l’Économie et de l’Innovation du Québec (MEI) as well as other agencies such as the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada ((NSERC) to support the development and funding of R&D projects relating to electricity and electric vehicle technologies.

In particular, we offer access to MEI grants for collaborative projects (involving at least one academic partner and at least one industrial partner).

These grants can cover up to 40% of the eligible expenses of the research institutions involved in the project. Projects can also take advantage of supplementary funding programs, e.g., from NSERC, Mitacs, NRC-IRAP, the FRQNT, or any other public, federal, provincial or municipal program. However, the industrial partners must cover at least 20% of the project costs.

Grant applications will be judged on the basis of criteria of relevance, quality and economic, social or technological benefits for Quebec.

La date de clôture pour le programme PSO est le 15 octobre 2021.

Other important criteria:

  • The targeted technologies and applications are related to one or more of our lines of research.
  • One or more industrial partners participate in the co-funding of the project. For projects starting at TRL 1-3: minimum of two industrial partners (at least one of which is based in Quebec). For projects starting at TRL 4-6: minimum one industrial partner.
  • Maximum InnovÉÉ grant value: $1.5 million per project.
  • All project stakeholders (industrial and academic) must be members of InnovÉÉ in good standing.

Important note: The grant criteria and other terms and conditions of our funding program are subject to change without notice.

Frequently asked questions

The minimum number of industrial partners depends on the Technology Readiness Level (TRL) at the start of the project. For projects starting at TRL 1-3, two or more industrial partners are required. For projects starting at TRL 4-6, only one industrial partner is required.

InnovÉÉ’s contribution to projects depends on the TRL at the start of the project.

  • For projects starting at TRL 1-3, InnovÉÉ can cover up to 40% of eligible costs. The industrial partners (minimum of two per project) must collectively cover a minimum of 20% of the research institution’s project costs in cash ($).  
  • For projects starting at TRL 4-6, InnovÉÉ can cover up to 20% of eligible costs. The industrial partner(s) must collectively cover the equivalent of at least 40% of the project costs. In-kind investments are recognized but cannot exceed 50% of the industrial total, up to a maximum of 20% of the total budget.

The MEI, through InnovÉÉ, can contribute to the funding of universities’ indirect costs of research (ICR). An ICR rate of 27% can be applied to the MEI’s share of the funding of certain expense items. If applicable, universities must also collect ICR from their industrial partners and the various funders of the project. These costs must be paid directly to the research institution. Please contact us for more details.

InnovÉÉ participates in the management of all funded projects. A portion of the budget must therefore be allocated to InnovÉÉ to cover project management costs. The amount payable by industrial partners (including applicable taxes) corresponds to 7.5% of the value of the grant awarded by InnovÉÉ (6.52% before taxes). The MEI also contributes to the funding of management fees.

$500,000 per year ($1,500,000 in total), including indirect costs of research (ICR) and MEI management fees.

For projects starting at TRL 1-3:

  1. The salaries, wages and fringe benefits of staff hired by research institutions specifically for the project (students, postdoctoral fellows, research assistants, research professionals, technicians, etc.) who are not subject to any other public financial support. Eligible expenses exclude the salary of any university professor, as well as the costs associated with the release of college teachers to carry out project activities.
  2. Student scholarships that are not subject to any other public financial support.
  3. Expenses for materials, supplies and other consumables incurred by research institutions specifically for the project.
  4. The purchase or rental of equipment by research institutions specifically for the project, the value of which is equal to or less than $15,000 before taxes (maximum 25% of total eligible expenses).
  5. Travel expenses (conferences, field work, meetings with partners, etc.) incurred by research institutions specifically for the project. Important note: If you are planning public presentations on the project, plan at least one public presentation in Quebec. Please contact us if this is not possible.
  6. Other expenses, including the fees of professionals and subcontractors, the costs of intellectual property management and exploitation, the costs of disseminating findings (publication costs, etc.), etc., incurred by research institutions specifically for the project.

For projects starting at TRL 4-6:

  • Eligible research institution expenses are the same as for TRL 1-3 projects (see above).
  • In-kind contributions from partners are also accepted if:
    • They are auditable expenses (their value can be reasonably established and backed by supporting documents)
    •  They are essential to the selected project
    • They correspond to costs incurred specifically to carry out the project
    • They represent an item for which it would otherwise be necessary to pay at equal or greater cost
    • They do not exceed 20% of the total financial package for the project (including management fees) 

For projects starting at TRL 1-3, in-kind contributions are not factored into the calculation of the minimum contribution from industrial partners. However, these contributions represent a potential indicator for measuring the involvement of industrial partners in the project and are therefore considered in the project evaluation (see evaluation criteria below). For example, if the cash contribution from one of the industrial partners is relatively small, its involvement in the project could in some cases be justified by the magnitude of its in-kind contributions.

For projects starting at TRL 4-6, see previous question.

It takes an average of 4 to 6 weeks between the submission of an application and the announcement of the results of InnovÉÉ’s evaluation. If the project is approved by InnovÉÉ, it must then be submitted to the MEI for final approval. Approval times vary in this case.

The average project acceptance rate is 70%. We have noticed that support from our advisors significantly increases the likelihood of an application’s success.

Although you do not know the outcome of your application, you can start working from the date of submission of the project. These activities will be funded if the project is approved.

Direct project costs, i.e., the cost of activities carried out by research staff, the salaries and fringe benefits of research staff, certain equipment expenses, consumables, equipment rental, travel expenses and dissemination costs, etc. For more information, please refer to the Applicant’s Guide.

The research centre can use these funds to rent equipment in connection with the project or to purchase equipment whose value does not exceed $15,000 or 25% of the project.

However, the PSO program is not the appropriate vehicle to secure funding for industrial equipment (capital investments). Ask our advisors to suggest sources of funding, and they will provide you with relevant recommendations in keeping with your needs.

No. InnovÉÉ funds only cover research and development activities carried out by researchers in a public research centre. In some cases, the funded research centre may subcontract work to companies or researchers in Quebec or elsewhere (see below). However, an industrial partner cannot be both a financial partner on a project and a subcontractor.

Consumables are the material resources consumed by the research centre during the project.

Yes, but only if they represent a small percentage of the grant.

InnovÉÉ is not a party to intellectual property management agreements. InnovÉÉ must receive confirmation that there is a signed agreement between the project partners (public research centres and industrial partners) prior to the start of the project and that this agreement includes the terms and conditions for management of intellectual property.

Yes. Public funding can generally cover up to 80% of project costs.

No.

Yes. Ask our advisors to help you optimize the funding of your project.

Please contact us at your earliest convenience to confirm the eligibility of the changes.

Please contact us at your earliest convenience to confirm the eligibility of the changes.

The industrial partner(s) will receive an invoice from their public research partner (university, CCTT or public research centre) at the beginning of the project.

In order to limit the number of financial transactions and parties involved, InnovÉÉ’s management fees are withheld at source from InnovÉÉ’s first two payments to the public research partner. An equivalent amount will be invoiced by the research partner to the industrial partners, since they are responsible for covering these costs.

Scroll to Top

PSO

InnovÉÉ travaille étroitement avec le Ministère de l’Économie et de l’Innovation du Québec (MEI) ainsi que d’autres organismes tel que le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) pour appuyer le développement et le financement de projets de recherche et développement en lien avec les technologies de l’électricité et des véhicules électriques.

Nous offrons notamment accès à des subventions du MEI pour des projets collaboratifs (impliquant au moins un partenaire académique et au moins un partenaire industriel).

Ces subventions peuvent couvrir jusqu'à 40% des dépenses admissibles des établissements de recherche impliqués dans le projet. Les projets peuvent également se prévaloir de programmes de financement complémentaires, par exemple, du CRSNG, Mitacs, CNRC-PARI, FRQNT, ou tout autre programme public, fédéral, provincial ou municipal. Les partenaires industriels doivent cependant couvrir au  moins 20% des coûts du projet.

Les demandes de subvention seront jugées en fonction de critères de pertinence, de qualité et de retombées économiques, sociales ou technologiques pour le Québec.

La date de clôture pour le programme PSO est le 15 octobre 2020.

Autres critères importants :

  • Les technologies et applications visées sont en lien avec un ou plusieurs de nos axes de recherche.
  • Un ou plusieurs partenaires industriels participent au cofinancement du projet. Pour les projets débutant en TRL 1-3 : minimum deux partenaires industriels (dont au moins un basé au Québec). Pour les projets débutant en TRL 4-6 : minimum un partenaire industriel.
  • Valeur maximale de la subvention InnovÉÉ : 1.5M $ par projet.
  • Toutes les parties prenantes (industriels et académiques) du projet doivent être membres en règle d’InnovÉÉ

Note importante : Les critères d’octroi de subvention et autres modalités de notre programme de financement sont sujets à changement sans préavis.

Foire aux questions

Le nombre minimum de partenaires industriels dépend du niveau de maturité technologique de départ du projet (en anglais : Technology Readiness Level ou TRL). Pour les projets débutant en TRL 1 à 3, il faut deux ou plus partenaires industriels. Pour les projets débutant en TRL 4 à 6, un seul partenaire industriel est requis

La contribution d’InnovÉÉ aux projets dépend du TRL au début du projet.

  • Pour les projets débutant en TRL 1 à 3, InnovÉÉ peut couvrir jusqu’à 40 % des couts admissibles. Les partenaires industriels (minimum deux par projet) doivent collectivement couvrir au minimum 20% des coûts du projet des établissements de recherche en espèces ($).  
  • Pour les projets débutant en TRL 4 à 6, InnovÉÉ peut couvrir jusqu’à 20% des couts admissibles. Le ou les partenaires industriels doivent collectivement couvrir l’équivalent d’au moins 40% des coûts du projet. Les investissements en nature sont reconnus, mais ne peuvent dépasser 50% du total industriel, jusqu’à un maximum de 20% du budget total.

Le MEI, par l’entremise d’InnovÉÉ, peut contribuer au financement des frais indirects de recherche (FIR) des universités. Un taux de 27% de FIR peut être appliqué sur la part du MEI du financement de certains postes de dépenses. Si applicable, les universités doivent aussi percevoir les FIR des partenaires industriels et des différents bailleurs de fonds au projet. Ces frais doivent être payés directement à l’établissement de recherche. Veuillez nous contacter pour plus de détails.

InnovÉÉ participe à la gestion de tous les projets financés. Une partie du budget doit donc être allouée à InnovÉÉ pour couvrir les frais de gestion de projet. Le montant payable (incluant les taxes applicables) par les partenaires industriels correspond à 7,5% de la valeur de la subvention octroyée par InnovÉÉ (6,52% avant taxes). Le MEI participe aussi au financement des frais de gestion.

500 000 $ par an (1 500 000 $ en total), incluant les FIR et les frais de gestion du MEI.

Pour les projets débutant en TRL 1-3 :

  1. Les salaires, traitements et avantages sociaux du personnel engagé spécifiquement par les établissements de recherche pour la réalisation du projet (étudiants, stagiaires postdoctoraux, assistants de recherche, professionnels de recherche, techniciens, etc.) qui ne font l’objet d’aucun autre soutien financier public. Les dépenses éligibles excluent tout salaire de professeur universitaire ainsi que les couts liés à la libération des enseignants collégiaux pour réaliser des activités dans le cadre des projets.
  2. Les bourses étudiantes qui ne font l’objet d’aucun autre soutien financier public.
  3. Les dépenses en matériaux, fournitures et autres consommables encourues par les établissements de recherche spécifiquement pour la réalisation du projet.
  4. L’achat ou la location d’équipements encouru par les établissements de recherche spécifiquement pour la réalisation du projet dont la valeur est égale ou inférieure à 15 000$ avant les taxes (au maximum 25% du total des dépenses admissibles).
  5. Les frais de déplacements (conférences, travaux sur le terrain, rencontres avec les partenaires, etc.) encourues par les établissements de recherche spécifiquement pour la réalisation du projet. Note importante : Si vous planifiez des présentations publiques sur le projet, prévoyez au moins une présentation publique au Québec, Veuillez-nous contacter si ce n’est pas possible.
  6. Autres dépenses, incluant les, honoraires de professionnels et sous-traitants, frais de gestion et d’exploitation de propriété intellectuelle, frais de diffusion des résultats (frais liés aux publications, etc.), etc., encourues par les établissements de recherche spécifiquement pour la réalisation du projet.

Pour les projets débutant en TRL 4-6 :

  • Les dépenses admissibles des établissements de recherche sont les mêmes que pour les projets de TRL 1-3 (voir ci-dessus).
  • Les contributions en nature des partenaires sont également admises si :
    • Ce sont des dépenses auditables (leur valeur peut être raisonnablement établie et appuyée par des pièces justificatives);
    •  Elles sont indispensables à la réalisation du projet retenu;
    • Elles correspondent à des frais encourus spécifiquement pour réaliser le projet;
    • Elles représentent un élément pour lequel il faudrait autrement payer à coût égal ou supérieur;
    • Elles n’excèdent pas 20 % du montage financier total du projet (incluant les frais de gestion). 

Pour les projets débutant en TRL 1-3, les contributions en nature ne sont pas comptées pour le calcul de la contribution minimale des partenaires industriels. Cependant, ces contributions représentent un indicateur potentiel de mesure de l’implication des partenaires industriels dans le projet et sont donc considérées dans l’évaluation du projet (voir critères d’évaluation ci-dessous). Par exemple, si la contribution en espèces d’un des partenaires industriels est relativement limitée, son implication dans le projet pourrait dans certains cas être justifiée par l’ampleur de ses contributions en nature.

Pour les projets débutant en TRL 4-6, voir question précédente

Il faut compter 4 à 6 semaines en moyenne entre le dépôt d’une demande et l’annonce des résultats de l’évaluation par InnovÉÉ. Si le projet est approuvé par InnovÉÉ, il faut ensuite le soumettre pour approbation finale au MEI. Les délais d’approbation dans ce cas sont variables.

Le taux d’acceptation des projets est en moyenne de 70%. Nous avons remarqué que l’accompagnement par nos conseillers augmente de manière significative la probabilité de succès d’une demande.

Bien que vous ne connaissiez pas le résultat de votre demande, vous pouvez commencer à travailler à partir de la date de dépôt du projet. Ces activités seront financées si le projet est approuvé.

Les coûts directs des projets, c’est-à-dire le coût activités réalisées par le personnel de recherche, les salaires et avantages sociaux du personnel de recherche, certaines dépenses en équipement, les consommables, la location d’équipements, les frais de déplacement et de diffusion, etc. Pour en savoir davantage, nous vous référons au Guide du demandeur.

Le centre de recherche peut utiliser ces fonds pour la location d’équipement en lien avec la réalisation du projet ou encore pour l’achat d’équipements dont la valeur ne dépasse pas 15 000 $ ou 25% du projet.

Cependant, le programme PSO n’est pas le bon véhicule pour le financement d’équipements des industriels (investissements en capital). Demandez à nos conseillers de vous suggérer des sources de financement et ils vous fourniront des recommandations pertinentes en accord avec vos besoins.

Non. Les fonds versés par InnovÉÉ couvrent uniquement les activités de recherche et développement réalisées par des chercheurs au sein d’un centre de recherche public. Dans certains, cas, le centre de recherche financé peut sous-contracter des travaux à des entreprises ou chercheurs, au Québec ou ailleurs (voir ci-dessous). Cependant, un industriel ne peut pas être à la fois partenaire financier d’un projet, et sous-contractant.

Ce sont les ressources matérielles consommées par le centre de recherche pendant la durée du projet.

Oui, mais seulement si celles-ci représentent un faible pourcentage de la subvention.

InnovÉÉ ne fait pas partie des ententes de gestion de la propriété intellectuelle. InnovÉÉ doit recevoir la confirmation qu’il y a une entente de signée entre les partenaires du projet (centres de recherche public et partenaires industriels) avant le début du projet et que cette entente comprend les modalités de gestion de la propriété intellectuelle.

Oui. Le financement public peut couvrir, en général, jusqu’à 80% des coûts du projet.

Non.

Oui, demandez à nos conseillers de vous accompagner dans l’optimisation du financement de votre projet.

Veuillez-nous contacter dès que possible pour confirmer l’admissibilité des changements.

Veuillez-nous contacter dès que possible pour confirmer l’admissibilité des changements.

Le ou les partenaires industriels recevront une facture de leur partenaire de recherche public (université, CCTT ou centre de recherche public) en début de projet.

Afin de limiter le nombre de transactions financières et d’intervenants, les frais de gestion d’InnovÉÉ sont retenus à la source lors des deux premiers versements d’InnovÉÉ au partenaire de recherche public. Un montant équivalent sera facturé par le partenaire de recherche aux partenaires industriels, puisque ces derniers ont la responsabilité de couvrir ces frais.

Retour haut de page