PSO INTERNATIONAL

PROGRAM DEDICATED TO INTERNATIONAL RESEARCH PROJECTS

This program aims to:

  • Support the implementation of international research and innovation projects among university, college, institutional and industrial stakeholders in Quebec
  • Expand and solidify high-level partnerships in research and innovation by supporting strategic international initiatives

ELIGIBLE PARTNERS

  • Quebec non-profit organizations involved in various fields of research and development
  • Health care and educational institutions involved in various fields of research and development
  • Quebec public research institutions

Details
Details The Ministry reserves the right to refuse any application for financial assistance from organizations that are in default on PSR-SIIRI and PSO International projects currently in progress or any application concerning a project that has already been refused twice in the past.

ELIGIBLE PROJECTS

  • Bilateral research projects (between Quebec and a country or between Quebec and another Canadian province; maximum aid of $150,000 over three years).
  • Multilateral research projects (among Quebec and at least two countries or Canadian provinces; maximum aid of $250,000 over three years).
  • Large-scale projects (maximum aid of $1,500,000 over three years), for example, projects eligible for the European research program Horizon 2020, including the Future and Emerging Technologies (FET) program or the future Horizon Europe (2021-2027), and funding for collaborative and interdisciplinary research for high-risk projects that can have real technological and social spillover benefits, while following innovative ways of thinking. The Ministry reserves the right to refuse certain projects under the Horizon 2020 program that are not of the necessary scope, such as obtaining Marie Sklodowska-Curie Actions fellowships.

CALL FOR PROJECTS

A call for projects is planned for the 2019-2020 fiscal year, according to the following schedule. The dates indicated below are subject to change without notice.

Activity Date
Submission of financial assistance application forms From January 15 to a date to be determined
Administrative processing of project paperwork and analysis and evaluation of projects TBD
Notification of results TBD
Drafting and signing of agreements with the selected organizations TBD

FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE AND ELIGIBLE EXPENSES

The Ministry’s financial assistance will take the form of a non-repayable, non-recurring contribution of up to 50% of eligible expenses on the Quebec side, up to a maximum of $1.5 million over three years per project.

In general, the financial assistance granted varies according to the type of project and does not exceed 50% of the eligible expenses associated with carrying out all of the activities on the Quebec side. The financial package may include a maximum of 80% public assistance from the various levels of government, with the exception of social innovation projects, for which the total may reach 100% of eligible expenses. A minimum cash contribution of 20% of anticipated expenses on the Quebec side is required from the Quebec stakeholder community, with the exception of social innovation projects, for which the contribution is not required. However, in lieu of making a contribution toward a social innovation project, the Quebec stakeholder community must provide a detailed letter of support highlighting the fit between the institution’s needs and the expected results of the research project (technology or process developed) that will address the institution’s problems.

Financial assistance granted under the PSO-International program cannot be combined with a contribution from another program of the Ministry. Thus, Mitacs internship units already co-funded by the Ministry cannot be co-funded in the financial package.

For more details, see the Application Guide.

SUBMITTING AN APPLICATION

Read the Application Guide to complete the application form and appendices correctly. All applications must be written in French, signed by an official duly authorized by the organization by resolution of the board of directors or signed by one of the directors clearly identified by the Registraire des entreprises du Québec, and sent in electronic format to the following address: pso.internationaleconomie.gouv.qc.ca.

The signed original of the application must also be sent by mail to:

Catherine Richard
Program Advisor
PSO
Component 2: Support for International Collaborative Research Projects
Direction des partenariats et des programmes canadiens et internationaux
Ministère de l’Économie et de l’Innovation
South Tower, 4th floor
380 Saint-Antoine Street West
Montréal, Quebec H2Y 3X7

An application will be deemed inadmissible if the form is incomplete or unsigned, or if any of the required documents are missing or incomplete at the time of submitting the application.

Scroll to Top

PSO INTERNATIONAL

PROGRAMME DÉDIÉ AUX PROJETS DE RECHERCHE À L’INTERNATIONAL

Ce programme vise :

  • à soutenir la réalisation de projets de recherche et d’innovation internationaux entre les acteurs des milieux universitaire, collégial, institutionnel et industriel au Québec;
  • à accroître et à concrétiser les partenariats de haut niveau en recherche et en innovation en soutenant des initiatives internationales stratégiques.

CLIENTÈLES ADMISSIBLES

  • Les OBNL québécois intervenant dans les différents créneaux de la recherche et du développement.
  • Les établissements des réseaux de la santé et de l’éducation intervenant dans les différents créneaux de la recherche et du développement.
  • Les établissements de recherche publics québécois.

Précisions
Le Ministère se réserve le droit de refuser toute demande d’aide financière provenant d’organismes qui seraient en défaut quant à des projets du PSR SIIRI et du PSO International en cours ou concernant un projet qui aurait déjà été refusé deux fois par le passé.

PROJETS ADMISSIBLES

  • Projets de recherche bilatéraux (entre le Québec et un pays ou entre le Québec et une autre province canadienne; aide maximale de 150 000 $ sur trois ans).
  • Projets de recherche multilatéraux (entre le Québec et au moins deux pays ou provinces canadiennes; aide maximale de 250 000 $ sur trois ans).
  • Projets d’envergure (aide maximale de 1 500 000 $ sur trois ans), par exemple les projets admissibles au programme de recherche européen Horizon 2020, comme le programme Technologies futures et émergentes (FET) ou le futur Horizon Europe (2021-2027), et le financement de la recherche collaborative et interdisciplinaire pour des projets à haut risque pouvant avoir des retombées technologiques et sociales réelles, tout en suivant des modes de pensée novateurs. Le Ministère se réserve le droit de refuser certains dossiers du programme Horizon 2020 qui n’auraient pas l’envergure nécessaire, comme l’obtention de bourses Actions Marie Sklodowska-Curie.

APPEL DE PROJETS

Un appel de projets est prévu durant l’année financière 2019-2020, selon le calendrier suivant. Les dates indiquées ci-dessous peuvent être modifiées sans avis préalable.

Activité Date
Dépôt des formulaires de demande d’aide financière Du 15 janvier jusqu’à une date à déterminer
Traitement administratif des dossiers et analyse et évaluation des projets à déterminer
Communication des résultats à déterminer
Rédaction et signature des conventions avec les organismes retenus à déterminer

AIDE FINANCIÈRE ET DÉPENSES ADMISSIBLES

L’aide financière du Ministère prendra la forme d’une contribution non remboursable et non récurrente pouvant atteindre 50 % des dépenses admissibles de la partie québécoise, jusqu’à concurrence de 1,5 million de dollars sur trois ans par projet.

De façon générale, l’aide financière accordée varie selon le type de projet et n’excède pas 50 % des dépenses admissibles liées à la réalisation de l’ensemble des activités de la partie québécoise. Le montage financier pourra inclure un maximum de 80 % d’aide publique des différents ordres de gouvernement, à l’exception des projets d’innovation sociale, pour lesquels le cumul peut atteindre 100 % des dépenses admissibles. Une contribution minimale de 20 % en espèces des dépenses prévues de la partie québécoise est requise de la part du milieu preneur québécois, à l’exception des projets d’innovation sociale, pour lesquels la contribution n’est pas exigée. Certes, les 20 % ne sont pas exigés du milieu preneur québécois pour les projets en innovation sociale, mais un milieu preneur québécois sans contribution doit cependant fournir une lettre d’appui détaillée mettant en évidence l’adéquation entre les besoins de l’institution et les résultats escomptés du projet de recherche (technologie ou procédé développé) qui viendront répondre aux problèmes de l’institution.

L’aide financière accordée dans le cadre du PSO-International ne peut être combinée à une contribution provenant d’un autre programme du Ministère. Ainsi, les unités de stage Mitacs, déjà cofinancées par le Ministère, ne peuvent faire l’objet d’un cofinancement dans le montage financier.

Pour plus de détails, consultez le Guide de présentation des demandes.

DÉPÔT D’UNE DEMANDE

Lisez le Guide de présentation des demandes afin de remplir correctement le formulaire de demande et les annexes. Toute demande doit être rédigée en français, signée par un responsable dûment autorisé par l’organisation par résolution du conseil d’administration ou faisant partie des administrateurs clairement identifiés par le Registraire des entreprises du Québec, et acheminée sous format électronique à l’adresse suivante :
pso.internationaleconomie.gouv.qc.ca.

L’original signé de la demande doit également être transmis par la poste à :

Catherine Richard
Conseillère en programmes
Programme de soutien aux organismes de recherche et d’innovation
Volet 2 : Soutien aux projets de recherche en collaboration internationale
Direction des partenariats et des programmes canadiens et internationaux
Ministère de l’Économie et de l’Innovation
Tour Sud, 4e étage
380, rue Saint-Antoine Ouest
Montréal (Québec)  H2Y 3X7

Une demande sera jugée irrecevable si le formulaire est incomplet ou non signé, ou si l’un des documents exigés est manquant ou incomplet au moment du dépôt de la demande.

Retour haut de page